WorldRiskReport


Whether it be an earthquake or a tsunami, a cyclone or floods, the risk of a natural event turning into a disaster always depends only partly on the force of the natural event itself. The living conditions of the people in the regions affected and the options available to respond quickly and toprovide assistance are just as significant.

Those who are prepared, who know what to do in the event of an extreme natural event, have a greater chance of survival. Countries that see natural hazards coming, that are preparing for the consequences of climate change and are providing the financial means required will be better prepared for the future. The WorldRiskReport should contribute to look at these links at a global level and draw future-oriented conclusions regarding assistance measures, policies and reporting.

As an essential part of the WorldRiskReport, the WorldRiskIndex, created by United Nations Universitys Institute for Environment and Human Security, indicates the risk of disaster in consequence of exreme natural events for 171 countrys.


Humanitarian logistics and infrastructure

Main topic WorldRiskReport 2016

Dilapidated transport routes, unsafe power grids, buildings in a state of disrepair: During extreme natural events, a fragile infrastructure can have grave consequences for the local population, for whom it represents a direct threat. In addition, it delays the effective potential for those affected to help themselves and impedes humanitarian relief provided by the local authorities or from abroad. Usually, the difficulties that relief agencies face are on the “last mile” of the logistics chain: Organizing transportation despite ruined roads or bridges, and ensuring fair distribution when, for example, there is a scarcity of water, food and shelter.
This is where information technology like the Internet or mobile phones as well as more recent technology such as drones or 3D printers, can support humanitarian logistics – that is, if they have not been impaired by a collapsed local power supply. But technology-based solutions aside, there still remains a host of challenges: examples include supporting self-help measures, coordinating the involved actors, making use of local resources, and the controversial issue of cooperations with the private sector and armed forces.

Experts at topics of humanitarian logistics and infrastructure

Humanitarian logistics to the “last mile”

Graphic in 3 steps

Topic overview 2011-2015


Food security and risk evaluation

By the year 2030 there will be no hunger anymore. For the 795 billion people around the world, which 2015 were massively malnourished, is this promise a bright look. The heads of state and government of over 150 countries determined the following: “Zero Hunger” is one of the 17 aims, that were passed by UN Summit on Sustainability in New York. In a world without hunger would be less disasters. Since food security and disaster risk influence each other mutual considerably, what is shown in the WorldRiskIndex 2015 with the main topic “food security”.

The city as a risk area

Whether extreme natural events will pose a threat to populations does not depend solely on their intensity. The vulnerability of a society affected by the impact of such an extreme event also plays a crucial role. The WorldRiskIndex calculates the risk of becoming the victim of a disaster resulting from an extreme natural event, i.e. by multiplying the vulnerability index by the exposure index. Given this year’s thematic focus “The city as a risk area”, for the fi rst time, risk has also been assessed for urban areas. But regardless of whether urban or rural areas, development definitely helps mitigating the risk of disasters.

Health and Healthcare

Whether it be drought, cyclone, earthquake or floods, when an extreme natural event hits a village or a town, the extent of harm to people crucially depends on what the population’s health status has been prior to the event — and on how well healthcare also works in crisis and disaster situations. In a nutshell, “health and healthcare” are decisive factors in risk assessment. The WorldRiskReport 2013 focuses on this theme.

Environmental degradation and disasters

When the full force of nature hits human settlements, this can have disastrous results: The lives of countless people are threatened, and through the destruction of buildings and infrastructure, progress made over years of development is destroyed in many countries. However, it is not alone the strength of a natural event that determines the extent of harm and damages. The risk a country runs of becoming a victim depends crucially on social, economic and institutional factors – in a nutshell, the condition of society within that country. The WorldRiskReport 2012 has devoted its focus to a significant driver of disasters: the worldwide increase in environmental degradation.

Governance and civil society

People are inevitably captivated by disasters. Television, on-line media, social networks and newspapers report immediately from affected areas. In just the first three months of 2011, the earthquake in New Zealand, the flood in Australia, and in particular, the earthquake and tsunami in Japan provided shocking images. Extreme natural events such as the tsunami on Boxing Day 2004 as well as the earthquake in Haiti and the flood in Pakistan both in 2010 have had catastrophic effects on the affected regions. The frequency and intensity of such extreme events have increased alarmingly in recent years. But did the disaster risk also increase?

 

WorldRiskIndex

2016

Nature cannot be controlled. Humans can only influence to a limited degree whether, and with what intensity, natural events are to occur. But they can take precautions to help prevent a natural event from becoming a disaster. It is this vulnerability of a society that forms the basis for the WorldRiskIndex, which calculates the disaster risk for 171 countries by multiplying vulnerability with exposure to natural hazards (cyclones, droughts, earthquakes, floods, and sea-level rise).
The WorldRiskIndex 2016 shows that the global hotspots for a high disaster risk lie in Oceania, Southeast Asia, Central America, and the Southern Sahel. Thus countries like the Solomon Islands (ranked 6th), Papua-New Guinea (ranked 10th), and Guinea-Bissau (ranked 15th) are all very strongly exposed to natural hazards and, owing to their poor economic and social situations, particularly vulnerable. The example of Australia demonstrates how a low level of vulnerability can lower disaster risk. The country mitigates its exposure, which is mainly to drought, earthquakes and sea-level rise, and thus attains a ranking of 121st from 171 in the WorldRiskIndex. However, the example of Japan shows that a low level of vulnerability cannot fully compensate for extreme exposure. Despite its very low vulnerability, the country is in place 17 in the WorldRiskIndex because of its very high exposure, mainly to earthquakes and floods. In countries like Liberia (ranked 56th), Zambia (ranked 66th) and the Central African Republic (ranked 71st), the situation is the reverse of that in Japan. They are rather weakly exposed to natural hazards but very vulnerable. A total 13 of the 15 countries with the highest vulnerability are situated on the African continent. For these countries in particular, it is true that development helps.

Worldmap of Risk

2016

  • very low
    0,08 - 3,46
  • low
    3,47 - 5,46
  • middle
    5,47 - 7,30
  • high
    7,31 - 10,39
  • very high
    10,40 - 36,72
  • no data

Calculation of Risk

2016

Downloads

Reports as PDF


  • WorldRiskReport2016
    2016
  • WorldRiskReport_2015-prev
    2015
  • WorldRiskReport_2014-prev
  • WorldRiskReport_2013-prev
  • WorldRiskReport_2012-prev
    2012
  • WorldRiskReport_2011-prev
    2011

Graphics and illustrations

WorldRiskIndex 2016

  • Humanitarian logistic to the last mile
    2016
  • Logistic and infrastructure
    2016
  • WorlRiskIndex 2016
    2016

Archiv

  • 2015-Emergency-ration-South-Sudan
  • 2015-Food-Insecurity-in-Exposed-Countries
  • 2015-How-Disasters-Amplify-Hunger
  • 2015-Securing-Food-Supplies---Preventing-Disasters
  • 2015-Share-Of-Undernourished-Worldwide
  • 2014-City-Growht-Worldwide
  • 2014-Distribution-of-World-Population
  • 2014-Total-Number-of-Inhabitants-in-Cities
  • 2014-Urban-Population-Growth-Until-2050
  • 2013-Hygiene-and-Child-Mortality
  • 2013-Money-and-Health
  • 2012-Reefs-at-Risk---People-at-Risk
  • 2012-Natural-Coastal-Protection

WeltRisikoBericht


Wie hängt das Katastrophenrisiko eines Landes mit der gesellschaftlichen Situation zusammen? Welchen Einfluss haben Faktoren wie Regierungsführung, Qualität des öffentlichen Gesundheitssystems, Umweltsituation und Bildungsniveau auf die Gefährdung eines Landes durch Naturkatastrophen?

Der WeltRisikoBericht versucht, Antworten auf diese Fragen zu geben. Der WeltRisikoBericht enthält den vom Institut für Umwelt und menschliche Sicherheit der Universität der Vereinten Nationen erstellten WeltRisikoIndex. Der Index gibt für 171 Länder weltweit das Risiko an, Opfer einer Katastrophe in Folge von extremen Naturereignissen zu werden.


Humanitäre Logistik und Infrastruktur

Schwerpunktthema WeltRisikoBericht 2016

Marode Verkehrswege, unsichere Stromnetze, baufällige Gebäude: Bei extremen Naturereignissen können fragile Infrastrukturen schwerwiegende Folgen haben. Denn sie stellen eine direkte Gefahr für die Bevölkerung dar. Sie verzögern zudem die effektive Selbsthilfe der Betroffenen und behindern humanitäre Hilfe der lokalen Autoritäten oder aus dem Ausland. Die Schwierigkeiten bei Hilfslieferungen liegen meist auf der „letzten Meile“ der Logistikkette: den Transport trotz zerstörter Straßen oder Brücken zu organisieren und bei Knappheit von zum Beispiel Wasser, Essen und Obdach eine gerechte Verteilung zu gewährleisten.
Informationstechnologien wie Internet oder Mobiltelefone, aber auch neuere Instrumente wie Drohnen oder 3 D-Drucker können die humanitäre Logistik dabei unterstützen – wenn sie nicht selbst durch den Zusammenbruch der Stromversorgung gestört sind. Unabhängig von technischen Lösungen bleiben jedoch viele Herausforderungen bestehen: etwa die Stärkung der Selbsthilfe, die Koordination zwischen beteiligten Akteuren, die Nutzung lokaler Ressourcen sowie die kontrovers diskutierte Zusammenarbeit mit Privatwirtschaft und Militär.

Expertinnen und Experten zum Thema humanitäre Logistik und Infrastruktur

Humanitäre Logistik bis zur “letzten Meile”

Grafik in 3 Schritten

Themenübersicht 2011 – 2015


Ernährungssicherheit und Risikobewertung

Im Jahr 2030 wird es keinen Hunger mehr geben. Für die 795 Millionen Menschen weltweit, die 2015 massiv unterernährt sind, ist dieses Versprechen eine gute Aussicht. Die Staats- und Regierungschefs von über 150 Ländern haben sich im September 2015 darauf festgelegt: „Null Hunger“ ist eines der 17 Ziele, die beim UN-Nachhaltigkeitsgipfel in New York verabschiedet wurden. In einer Welt ohne Hunger würde es weniger Katastrophen geben. Denn Ernährungssicherheit und Katastrophenrisiko beeinflussen sich wechselseitig in erheblichem Ausmaß, wie der WeltRisikoBericht 2015 mit dem Schwerpunktthema „Ernährungssicherheit“ zeigt.

Urbanisierung – Trends und Risikobewertung

Ob extreme Naturereignisse für Menschen zur Gefahr werden, hängt nicht alleine von ihrer Intensität ab. Entscheidend ist auch, wie verwundbar die Gesellschaft ist, auf die sie treffen. Aus dieser Vulnerabilität und der Exposition gegenüber Naturgefahren errechnet der WeltRisikoIndex das Katastrophenrisiko – anlässlich des Schwerpunktthemas „Risikoraum Stadt“ in diesem Jahr erstmals auch gesondert für urbane Räume. Doch gleich, ob Stadt oder Land – mit Blick auf das Katastrophenrisiko gilt uneingeschränkt: Entwicklung hilft.

Risiko bewerten, Verwundbarkeit verringern

Egal ob Dürre, Wirbelsturm, Erdbeben oder Überschwemmung: Wenn ein extremes Naturereignis ein Dorf oder eine Stadt trifft, hängt das Ausmaß der Schädigung von Menschen maßgeblich davon ab, wie es schon vorher um den Gesundheitszustand der Bevölkerung stand – und wie gut die medizinische Versorgung auch in Krisen- und Katastrophensituationen funktioniert. Kurzum: „Gesundheit und medizinische Versorgung“ sind entscheidende Faktoren der Risikobewertung. Der WeltRisikoBericht 2013 widmet seinen Schwerpunkt diesem Thema.

Katastrophenrisiko, Umweltzerstörung und globale Nachhaltigkeitspolitik

Wenn Naturgewalten mit voller Wucht auf menschliche Siedlungen treffen, kann das katastrophale Folgen haben: Das Leben unzähliger Menschen ist bedroht, und durch Zerstörungen von Gebäuden und Infrastruktur wird in vielen Ländern der Entwicklungsfortschritt von Jahren zunichte gemacht. Doch es ist nicht allein die Stärke des Naturereignisses, die über das Ausmaß des Schadens entscheidet. Das Risiko eines Landes, Opfer einer Katastrophe zu werden, hängt entscheidend von sozialen, ökonomischen und institutionellen Faktoren ab – kurzum: dem Zustand der Gesellschaft. Der WeltRisikoBericht 2012 widmet seinen Schwerpunkt einem wesentlichen Katastrophentreiber: den weltweit zunehmenden Umweltzerstörungen.

Der WeltRisikoBericht

Katastrophen ziehen die Menschen unweigerlich in ihren Bann. Mit hoher Aktualität berichten Fernsehen, Online-Medien, soziale Netzwerke und Zeitungen direkt aus den zerstörten Gebieten. Alleine in den ersten drei Monaten dieses Jahres sorgten das Erdbeben in Neuseeland, die Flut in Australien sowie insbesondere das Erdbeben und der Tsunami in Japan für schockierende Bilder. Extreme Naturereignisse wie der Tsunami am zweiten Weihnachtstag 2004, das Erdbeben in Haiti und die Flut in Pakistan 2010 haben katastrophale Auswirkungen auf die betroffenen Regionen. Die Häufigkeit und die Intensität solcher extremer Naturereignisse haben in den vergangenen Jahren erschreckend zugenommen. Aber ist damit auch das Katastrophenrisiko gestiegen?

 

WeltRisikoIndex

2016

Die Natur lässt sich nicht beherrschen. Ob und mit welcher Intensität Naturereignisse auftreten, kann der Mensch nur bedingt beeinflussen. Doch er kann Vorbereitungen treffen, die dazu beitragen, dass aus einem Naturereignis keine Katastrophe wird. Es ist diese Verwundbarkeit (Vulnerabilität) einer Gesellschaft, auf deren Basis der WeltRisikoIndex durch eine Multiplikation mit der Exposition gegenüber Naturgefahren (Wirbelstürme, Dürren, Erdbeben, Überschwemmungen und Meeresspiegelanstieg) für 171 Länder das Katastrophenrisiko berechnet.
Der WeltRisikoIndex 2016 zeigt, dass die globalen Hotspots eines hohen Katastrophenrisikos in Ozeanien, Südostasien, Zentralamerika und im südlichen Sahel liegen. So sind Länder wie die Salomonen (Rang 6), Papua-Neuguinea (Rang 10) und Guinea-Bissau (Rang 15) zugleich sehr stark exponiert gegenüber Naturgefahren und aufgrund ihrer schlechten wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Situation besonders verwundbar. Wie eine niedrige Verwundbarkeit das Katastrophenrisiko senken kann, zeigt das Beispiel Australiens. Seine hohe Exposition, vor allem bedingt durch Dürre, Erdbeben und Meeresspiegelanstieg, mildert das Land durch seine sehr geringe Verwundbarkeit und erreicht so Rang 121 von 171 im WeltRisikoIndex. Dass eine geringe Verwundbarkeit eine extreme Gefährdung allerdings nicht vollkommen ausgleichen kann, lässt sich am Beispiel Japans erkennen. Trotz seiner sehr niedrigen Verwundbarkeit liegt das Land aufgrund seiner sehr hohen Exposition, vor allem gegenüber Erdbeben und Überschwemmungen, im WeltRisikoIndex auf Platz 17. In Ländern wie Liberia (Rang 56), Sambia (Rang 66) und der Zentralafrikanischen Republik (Rang 71) verhält es sich umgekehrt wie in Japan. Sie sind eher schwach durch Naturgefahren gefährdet, aber sehr verwundbar. Insgesamt liegen 13 der 15 Länder mit der höchsten Vulnerabilität auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent. In diesen Ländern gilt besonders: Entwicklung hilft.

Weltkarte des Risikos

2016

  • sehr gering
    0,08 - 3,46
  • gering
    3,47 - 5,46
  • mittel
    5,47 - 7,30
  • hoch
    7,31 - 10,39
  • sehr hoch
    10,40 - 36,72
  • keine Daten

Berechnung des Risikos

2016

Downloads

Berichte als PDF


  • WeltRisikoBericht2016
    2016
  • WeltRisikoBericht
    2015
  • WeltRisikoBericht
    2014
  • WeltRisikoBericht
    2013
  • WeltRisikoBericht
    2012
  • WeltRisikoBericht
    2011

Grafiken und Abbildungen

WeltRisikoBericht 2016

  • Gefahren-2016
    2016
  • WeltRisikoIndex-2016
    2016
  • Anzahl-der-gemeldeten-Kathastrophen-2016
    2016
  • Humanitaere-Logistik-bis-zur-letzten-Meile
    2016
  • Logistik-und-Infrastruktur-2016
    2016
  • Technologien-2016
    2016

Archiv

  • 2015-Wie-Katastrophen-den-Hunger-verstärken
  • 2015-Ernährung-sichern---Katastrophen-vorbeugen
  • 2015-Nothilferation-Südsudan
  • 2015-Übersicht-Ernährungsunsicherheit
  • 2015-Unterernähurng-weltweit-nach-Region
  • 2014-Städtewachstum-weltweit
  • 2014-Urbane-Gesamteinwohnerzahlen
  • 2014-Urbanes-Bevölkerungswachstum-bis-2050
  • 2014-Aufteilung-der-Weltbevölkerung
  • 2013-Hygiene-und-Kindersterblichkeit
  • 2013-Geld-und-Gesundheit
  • 2012-Natürlicher-Küstenschutz
  • 2012-Gefährdete-Riffe---Gefährdete-Menschen